I accidentally spilled something on a shirt and the owner said it was stained and wants me to pay her $50. That is the price of the shirt brand new. I told her I would pay to have it cleaned professionally and/or compensate her for what the used shirt was worth. I don't feel I have to give her $50 for a brand new shirt when I don't even know how old it is and she didn't even give me an opportunity to see if I could get the stain out or find someone to get it. It was chicken broth! Not something f that would stain Like that. Do I have pay for a new shirt or just for what the shirt was worth before it was stained?
Im 17. I have been put in foster care for truancy. Had a drug problem and failed rehab. Therefore, they tried to put me in outpatient so i ran from my Foster home. Do you think my record will be clean when im 18? And what would happen with that situation when I'm 18?
As for your record, it may not automatically be erased once you turn 18. If there are any charges pending, such as truancy, and you need to complete the terms of your program, then you should contact the court and find out what, if anything, you need to do to successfully complete the program/the judge's orders. Once you turn 18, you can then contact the court and request a copy of your record to see whether or not anything is on it. In most states, youth "age out" of foster care at 18. However, this will depend on the laws of your state. The state may be required to help you transition from foster care into independent living until you are in your early 20's. Check out this link for more information about aging out of foster care and helpful resources concerning aid and help that may be available to you. Good luck. (Check our Teen Help Network for more help and resources in your area. This is information only – not legal advice.)
I mean inpatient
Hello, I'm wanting to take a paternity test for a beautiful 16 month old girl. I have reason to believe that she is mine, but there is a problem. When her mother and I got together, she was separated from her husband and in the process of getting a divorce. When the baby was born, the husband was put onto the birth certificate (I had no clue that she was even pregnant). When I found out six months later, I started to try to get a paternity test by going to my local dhs only to be turned down because my ex's separated husband was on the birth certificate and he had to give permission to allow me to take the test. He really dislikes me to the point he will do about anything to hinder me from anything. The state is even saying that the mother doesn't have a say in this matter (we've tried filling out a affidavit thing stating she gives me permission and it was shot down). I've tried contacting lawyers and attorneys with no success and I just want to know if that is my baby girl. What can I do now? We both live in separate states (I'm in Oregon, she's in Idaho) so it makes it even harder to do this. What can I do?
AsktheJudge.info is an educational site for and about teens and the law. Perhaps you could try consulting with your local legal aid office. Also, you could contact your local court to see if they offer a free legal assistance program which would allow you to meet briefly with a pro bono attorney. Many courts throughout the country offer these programs. Good luck. (Check our Teen Help Network for more help and resources in your area. This is information only – not legal advice.)
if you have already been sent to prison in the past for shoplifting what is most likely to happing if you do the crime again?
You most likely are referring to jail rather than prison. The possible consequences depend on a number of factors including your criminal history/record, the laws of your state and the specific facts and circumstances. If you went to jail for the last offense and this current offense involves a stolen item worth a decent amount of money, then jail time may be likely again. You can try contacting a local criminal attorney for more information. Many attorneys offer a free initial consultation. Good luck. (Check our Teen Help Network for more help and resources in your area. This is information only – not legal advice.)
Can my ex girlfriend keep my daughter hostage from me after she kicked me out on the streets and my ex girlfriend ain't the biological mother?
If your ex does not have custody rights, guardianship, etc. of your daughter, then she most likely does not have any rights to keep her. You need to either contact the police or a local family law attorney for further information and assistance based on the laws of your state as well as the specific facts and circumstances. Many attorneys offer a free initial consultation, which you can ask about if you contact one. Good luck to you and your daughter. (Check our Teen Help Network for more help and resources in your area. This is information only – not legal advice.)
So at a place I go to in the summer recently opened up and a guy, who has a spot, in the trailer park had no electricity to his spot yet because the owner of the grounds hadn't turned it on yet since no one was up yet when they had recently opened the campground for the season. As he was trying to get in touch with the owner she didn't respond for a few hours so he w want to the electrical unit for the grounds, cut the lock on it, and turned on the electricity. When she eventually came down to turn it on for him she saw the lock was broken and he said he cut it since she didn't respond to his request when it should have been on already when the season started for them. Now she evicted them from the grounds for that reason. I don't know anything else on this issue but Is this considered destruction of property, vandalism, or neglect of the owner? Does she have the right to evict someone when the service they paid for isn't met when no electricity is on?
AsktheJudge.info is an educational site for and about teens and the law. Your friend would need to speak with an attorney who handles property law, etc. Just because the electricity was not turned on does not give him the right to cut the lock. He may be lucky that she didn't contact the police over this. Good luck to your friend. (Check our Teen Help Network for more help and resources in your area. This is information only – not legal advice.)
Hey I am a bit confused by this. I've been told it's 16 that you can legally have sex with someone 18 or over. I have also been told that its 18 when you can have sex with who ever. I live in the state of Pennsylvania, I am 17 years of age and I want to know if i have to wait until my 18th bday to legally be able to or if i already am legal.
Well I believe that if u are 16 dating a 18 year old it is still against the law to have sex with them also you need parent consent to even date the person who is 18 if you are only 16. And if you are 18 years old yes you are considerd as a adult so I believe you can date any age as long as it's not under the age 16 but you will need parent consent if the are 16 or 17.
It depends on the "age of consent" in your state. This is the legal age when a person can consent to sex. Generally, it's somewhere between 16 and 18 years old in every state. According to the following site, the age of consent in Pennsylvania is 16 years old. However, be sure to confirm that the information is current as laws are constantly changing. Be safe and use protection if you choose to have sex. (Check our Teen Help Network for more help and resources in your area. This is information only – not legal advice.)
Elizabeth MacWilliams has been teaching since 2004 and is currently the principal at Carroll Middle School in Raleigh, South Carolina. The school has 1,000 students, and Ms. MacWilliams manages to...[Read More]
I have a friend who was recently convicted back in January. He was sentenced to 12years on a B felony. He agreed and signed for a 3 year minimum towards his sentenced. He had 54 days of jail time credit from which he went to jail back in 2014 before his bond. He is currently still in the county jail waiting for Arkansas Dept. Of Corrections to come and get him. But he has a ADC number now. His pe/te date says 12/16/2022. Is that date supposed to go down as he earn his good time credit? With him being a first time offender does that effect his time as well? Can he be eligible for parole before 2022?
AsktheJudge.info is an educational site for and about teens and the law. You will need to speak with someone in the system with this information. Perhaps start by contacting the prison directly and ask to speak with someone who can answer your questions. Good luck. (Check our Teen Help Network for more help and resources in your area. This is information only – not legal advice.)
I did a act of vandalism. I am willing to pay for the damages in cash. Can I send the police cash with a letter of apology to pay for my vandalism? Will the police accept it? Will the police trace the money were it came from? Will this clear me?
You could try paying the company, the resident of the house, or whoever owns, etc. the property that you damaged. If you don't know who to pay, then yes, you could report yourself to the police, but they may decide to write a report, share it with the prosecutor and criminal charges could ultimately be filed against you. So, if you can possibly pay for the damage directly to the owner, it may end the matter quickly without police involvement. It's good that you are trying to do the right thing. Good luck. (Check our Teen Help Network for more help and resources in your area. This is information only – not legal advice.)